The Palmerston North City Library research guides are intended as a starting point for assignments and researchers and for anyone with an interest in local history. The guides are bibliographic lists of resources the Library holds on commonly requested topics and areas of interest. They cover two main places for obtaining information – the New Zealand and Pacific Islands Zone and the Ian Matheson City Archives.
The guides list relevant resources within these two areas, with a particular focus on books, photographs and newspaper articles in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands Zone, and on Community Archives, Research Files and Council Archives in the Ian Matheson City Archives.
The collection of guides available is expected to grow over time and has an initial focus on monuments around Palmerston North.
Monuments
No. 1: The Cenotaph - Palmerston North's War Memorial
No. 2: Te Peeti Te Awe Awe Statue
No. 3: King Edward VII Memorial Fountain
No. 4: The Clock Tower in The Square
No. 5: Memorial Park (orig. Fitzroy Park)
No. 6: Awapuni Racecourse Memorial
No. 7: Terrace End School Memorial Baths & Gate
No. 8: Monro Memorial - Massey
No. 9: Aokautere School Memorial Gate
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 1
The Cenotaph - Palmerston North’s War Memorial
|

The War Memorial - Circa 1930
|

The War Memorial Today (2007)
|
Location: The Square, Palmerston North
The Cenotaph, Palmerston North’s War Memorial, was constructed in 1926. Money for the monument was raised by the Palmerston North and Districts Soldiers Memorial Fund. At the time, there was considerable discussion over the form of the memorial and its location in the centre of the Square, which at that time was occupied by the railway line. Eventually it was decided to deviate the railway, to site the memorial in the central location. The monument is a copy of one found in Folkstone, England. The figure represents the spirit of motherhood and holds a wreath of remembrance and a New Zealand Flag. She looks North West towards the battlefields of Europe. The memorial has remained largely unchanged over the years until it was rededicated in 2005 with various additions including plaques listing the names of all the war dead from the region, six flagpoles, and steps bordered on either side by stone plinths.
For more information about the Cenotaph see the following resources in our collections:
New Zealand and Pacific Islands Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books: Local Collection
-
Bradfield, A. G. S. (1956). Forgotten days (pp. 150-156). Palmerston North, New Zealand: Author.
-
Bradshaw, R. (1999). Palmerston North & surrounds (pp. 21). Palmerston North, New Zealand: Author.
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
-
Monuments: Mo 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d, Mo 2, Mo 7, Mo 9, Mo 11
-
Square: Sq 176a, Sq 234, Sq 262
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
- CA: Richards Papers – Lists of Palmerston North War Dead
- PNCC: 1/5/5 file 31/7 Maintenance and Landscaping
- PNCC: 4/8/2 Plan 232/4 and 232/13
- PNCC: 11/8 PN & Districts Soldiers and Memorial Fund
- PNCC: Series 63 Roll of Honour 2005
- Research File: A175/72/3 War Memorial
Websites:
http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/?q=node/1041
Other references and resources on the War Memorial may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands Zone and Ian Matheson City Archives areas of the Central Library.
Download a pdf copy of this brochure - War Memorial brochure.pdf (317KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 2
Te Peeti Te Awe Awe Statue
|

Te Peeti Te Awe Awe Statue - Circa 1910
|

Te Peeti Te Awe Awe Statue - 2007
|
Location: The Square, Palmerston North
Te Peeti Te Awe Awe (c1820-1884) was a chief of the Rangitane tribe and the statue in The Square was erected by his sister Ereni Te Awe Awe. Te Peeti was instrumental in selling the Upper Manawatu land to the Government, this land included the site of the city of Palmerston North. In addition Te Peeti along with other Maori warriors fought under the command of a number of military leaders and was presented with a sword and Union Jack by the Queen in recognition of his loyalty and valour.
The statue was unveiled in the Plaza corner of The Square on the 29th January 1907 by the Hon. James Carroll, the Native Minister. A number of other notable guests were present as well as a significant group of Maori from around the region, it was estimated that over 200 people were present. The statue is made of Carrara marble and is a little larger than lifesize. It has remained in the Square largely unchanged to the present day.
For more information about the Te Peeti Statue see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Islands Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books: Local Collection
-
Bradfield, A. G. S. (1956). Forgotten days (pp. 73-75). Palmerston North, New Zealand: Author.
-
Matheson, I. R. (2003). Council and community (pp. 11). Palmerston North, New Zealand: Palmerston North City Library.
-
Buick, T. L. (1903). Old Manawatu (pp. 32). Palmerston North: Buick & Young.
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
-
Monuments: Mo 5, 6, 12, 20, 21, 22
-
Tangata Whenua: Tw 1-1
-
Square: Sq 258, 368, 379
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
-
PNCC: 1/5/1 box 9 folder 1, box 10 folder 4 - correspondence
-
PNCC: 1/5/5 file 31/8. History and Maintenance
-
Research File: A175/72/3 Te Awe Awe Statue
Other references and resources on the Te Peeti statue may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands and Ian Matheson City Archives areas of the Central Library.
Download a pdf copy of this brochure Te Peeti Te Awe Awe Statue (111KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 3
King Edward VII Memorial Fountain

King Edward Memorial Fountain - Circa 1910
|
King Edward Memorial Fountain - 2007
|
Location: The Square, Palmerston North
The Coronation Memorial Fountain was built to commemorate the coronation of King Edward VII as well as the incorporation of the Borough of Palmerston North in 1902. It was originally sited near the middle of The Square in front of where the War Memorial now stands. After the construction of the Cenotaph in 1926 the Fountain was painstakingly dismantled and moved to the middle of the Beautifying Society pond in the SW corner of The Square in front of the C M Ross building. It remained there until 2005 when it was relocated by crane to the NW corner of The Square near the Ladies Rest. Here it was restored, stripped of years of accumulated paint and the water turned back on again. The fountain was designed by a Napier architect C A Vautier and built by local masons S Dowdall and Co. It also features a 1930 plaque for the proclamation of Palmerston North as a city. The Fountain is constructed of Oamaru stone and bluestone, and is listed by the Historic Places Trust as a Category II Historic Place.
For more information about the Fountain see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Islands Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books: Local Collection
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
-
Monuments: Mo 8, Mo 13, Mo 14
-
Square: Sq 31, Sq 42, Sq 136, Sq 243, Sq 369, Sq 380
-
Digital Photos – 2005, 2007
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
-
PNCC: 4/8/2 M232/37 Fountain Plan
-
PNCC: 1/1/1 Minute Books 1902-3, 1926
-
Research File: A175/72/3 Coronation Fountain
-
Research File: A175/19 CBD Heritage Inventory 1993
Other references and resources on the King Edward Memorial Fountain may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands and Ian Matheson City Archives zones of the library. The Archives holds a detailed reference list on the Fountain in the Research File A175/72/3.
Download a pdf copy of this brochure Memorial Fountain brochure.pdf (291KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 4
The Clock Tower in the Square
Location: The Square, Palmerston North
Palmerston North had a town clock on the Post Office from 1906 until the 1940’s, when the tower and clock were removed due to earthquake concerns. The clock and chimes are named Kerei Te Panau after a local Rangitane chieftain. In 1953 Arthur Hopwood offered the city a gift of £10,000 to build a new tower in The Square to hold the clock and chimes. The city accepted the offer and the Clock Tower was completed in 1957. The Clock Tower has experienced a number of changes including the removal of the original stage and the addition of a cross. The cross on the Clock Tower has generated strong debate in the city over the years as evidenced by frequent letters to the editor and Council debates. During 2007 the Clock Tower was refurbished as part of City Heart. The restored Clock Tower is topped by a lantern style cross which continues to generate debate.
For more information about the Clock Tower and chimes see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books: Local Collection
- Bradfield, A. G. S. (1956). Forgotten days (pp. 75-76, 97). Palmerston North, New Zealand: Author.
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
-
Square: Sq 215, Sq 224, Sq 373, Sq 374, Sq 381 (the Clock Tower features in many other photos of The Square)
-
Group Portraits: Pg 117
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
-
CA: Hornblow (John) Papers
-
PNCC: 1/5/5 file 31/1-6
-
PNCC: 4/8/2 M572/3 & 10 Clock Tower Plans
-
Research File: A175/72/3 Clock & Clock Tower
Websites:
http://citylibrary.pncc.govt.nz/clock-tower.html
The above website includes a historical timeline and digital copies of selected City Library and IRM Archives Clock Tower resources.
Other references and resources on the Clock Tower may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands and Ian Matheson City Archives zones of the Library.
Download a pdf copy of this brochure Clock Tower brochure.pdf (330KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 5
Memorial Park (orig. Fitzroy Park)
Memorial Obelisk 1953
|

Memorial Park Gates 2007
|
Location: Main Street, Palmerston North
From 1876 to the 1930s the park was used as a gravel pit by the New Zealand Railways to provide ballast for the region’s rail tracks. The resulting pit was purchased by the City Council and Fitzroy Park opened in 1938. The obelisk pictured above was dedicated in 1952 by Sir Kippenberger and removed in 1983 due to dangerous cracks in the structure. The gates remain as the official memorial.
Fitzroy Park was officially dedicated as Memorial Park in 1954. The park features a soccer field, which was originally surrounded by a velodrome, and a grandstand. There is also a lake, children’s swimming pool, public toilets, skating rink, carparking and many mature trees and plantings. The Memorial Park gates featured above bear a plaque inscribed “Enter not this park in sorrow but in pride, and strive to live as nobly as they died".
For more information about Memorial Park see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books: Local Collection
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
Other references and resources on the War Memorial may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands and Ian Matheson City Archives zones of the library. Many specific references on Memorial Park can be found in the Archives Research File A175/61/6.
Download a pdf copy of this brochure Memorial Park pdf (333KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 6
Awapuni Race Course Memorial
|

Memorial circa 1929
|

Memorial 2007
|
Location: Awapuni Racecourse, Palmerston North
During World War One the Awapuni Racecourse was used for training by the New Zealand Medical Corps. Following the War in 1929 a Memorial was unveiled at the Racecourse to honour the 662 members of the Corps who were killed or wounded during the conflict. The Memorial was officially opened by the Governor General of the day Sir Charles Fergusson.
The Memorial consists of a pool in the shape of an ambulance cross with a marble cairn in the centre. The cairn is a fountain as seen operating in the 1929 photo above. A small marble plaque is attached to the cairn and a larger version with the same inscription is on the side of the pool. The beginning of the inscription reads “In Arduis Fidelis” – which translates as “faithful in adversity”. The Memorial has been changed by the removal of the surrounding raised gardens and the addition of a taller fence. Mr J M Johnston, the Secretary of the Manawatu Racing Club, designed the Memorial. It is assumed the Racing Club built and paid for the Memorial.
For more information about the Memorial see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Zone – 2nd Floor:
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
- Research File: A/175/445/3 Wars – Memorials
Other Sources:
- National Archives of NZ: Record Title – “Memorial – War – Awapuni Racecourse (NZMC [New Zealand Medical Corps])”
- Royal New Zealand Army Medical Corps Museum – Burnham Camp, Burnham
Websites:
http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/node/1024
Other references and resources on the War Memorial may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific and Ian Matheson City Archives zones of the library.
Download a pdf copy of this brochure Awapuni Racecourse Memorial (237KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 7
Terrace End School Memorial Baths & Gate
|
|
|
1939
|
2007
|
Location: Terrace End School, Ruahine Street, Palmerston North
Fundraising started in 1917 and the Terrace End Memorial Baths were opened on 3rd March 1923 by the Mayor Mr Nash (MP). The memorial gate was unveiled a year later on the 18th July 1924. The baths were built as a memorial to “the memory of the Terrace End School Old Boys who rendered gallant service to the Empire during the Great War 1914-1918”. The gate is set in a concrete fence with panels of “Wellington sand”. Originally the iron gate had the letters “T E M B” attached. There are 27 names inscribed on three marble panels on the archway for the gate. The pool was used extensively by the School, nearby schools and the community, however, it is no longer in use and has been emptied. The gates and pool had fallen into disrepair in more recent times. Around 2005 the Palmerston North Cadets adopted the area and it has been revamped to its original splendour. The Memorial is easily visible off Ruahine Street at the front of the Terrace End School.
For more information about the Memorial Baths & Gate see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books: Local Collection
-
Terrace End School (1960). Terrace End School, Palmerston North, 75th Jubilee Celebrations, 1884-1959 (pp. 38-39). Palmerston North, New Zealand: Author.
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
Websites:
http://www.rootsweb.com/~nzlmanaw/TerraceEWWIMemorial.htm (lists the names from the Memorial with brief biographical background including military service and death dates)
Other references and resources on the Memorial Baths & Gate may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific and Ian Matheson City Archives zones of the Library.
Download a copy of this brochure Terrace End Memorial Baths & Gate (244KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 8
Monro Memorial
|
|
|
1970
|
2008
|
Location: Massey University, Palmerston North
The Monro memorial was officially opened on the 20th May 1970 by representatives of Massey University, the Monro family, the New Zealand Rugby Union and the Manawatu Rugby Union. The NZRFU contributed $1,350 towards the memorial. The memorial is situated on the Monro Hill overlooking Massey and is dedicated to the memory of Mr Charles John Monro (1851-1933) who is credited with starting the game of rugby in New Zealand. After returning from his education at Christ’s College, Finchley, in London, Monro taught the members of the Nelson Football Club the new game. They adopted the code in 1870 and on 14 May 1870 Nelson College played Nelson Club – the first interclub rugby union football match to be played in New Zealand.
Monro moved to Palmerston North in 1887 and bought land on the rise opposite the present day main entrance to Massey University. The family homestead ‘Craiglockhart’ was built there and in 1943 was sold to Massey Agricultural College (now Massey University) and became a student hostel which is still in use today.
For more information about the Monro memorial see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Zone – 2nd Floor:
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
Other Sources: The New Zealand Rugby Museum, based in Palmerston North, has memorabilia relating to C J Monro and his connections to rugby in New Zealand as well as some material relating to the memorial. http://www.rugbymuseum.co.nz/
Other references and resources on the Monro memorial may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific Islands and Archives Zones of the Library.
Download a copy of this brochure Monro Memorial - Massey (245KB)
Palmerston North Local History Brochure: Monuments, No. 9
Aokautere School Memorial Gate
|
|
|
Memorial Gate circa 1950s (Z5054)
|
Memorial Gate - 2008
|
Location: Aokautere School, Fitzherbert East Road, Palmerston North
The Aokautere School Gates are a memorial to the men from the district who died in World War One. Of those who served 10 were killed including 5 who were ex-pupils of the School. The Memorial was unveiled on the 8th June 1921 by Mr J A Nash MP in front of a crowd of about 80 people.
The Memorial consists of two substantial concrete pillars with an iron gate between them. On the left hand pillar a marble tablet bears the names of 9 of the men who served with the words “In Memoriam 1914-1918”. The gate and pillars were erected by A Chesterman and R Webby with funds subscribed from the district. In 1960 the gate and pillars were excavated and realigned during a school working bee. 1988 saw the Memorial given complimentary repair and cleaning work thanks to Andersons Memorials. The school was originally named Fitzherbert East and on 10th June 1969 was renamed Aokautere School.
For more information about the Memorial Gate see the following:
New Zealand and Pacific Zone – 2nd Floor:
Books Local Collection:
Photographs: Palmerston North City Library Photo Collection
Newspaper Articles: Newspaper Index
Ian Matheson City Archives – Ground Floor:
Other references and resources on the Memorial Gate may be found in the New Zealand and Pacific and Archives Zones of the library.
Download a copy of this brochure Aokautere Memorial Gate (260KB)